≡ Menu

All about the Heart Chakra: Healing the Heart Chakra with Reiki

This is the next article in the Chakra series, and it’s all about the Heart Chakra.

The heart chakra, or Anahata, is the fourth of the seven main chakras. It is the center of unconditional love.

It is responsible for the administration of:

* the circulatory system, including the heart
* the respiratory system
* the arms and hands
* shoulders
* ribs and breasts
* diaphragm
* thymus gland

Many emotions, such as love, hatred, grief, joy, jealousy, fear of betrayal, feelings of isolation and loneliness and the ability to make ourselves feel better are all centered in the heart chakra.

Functions of the Heart Chakra

Physical health

The heart chakra governs the lungs, heart, blood circulation – it controls the essential life forces that are vital for the human life. The heart chakra is also associated with the thymus gland which plays a role in producing T-cells that are essential for a healthy immune system.

The Seven Main Chakras

The Seven Main Chakras

When the heart chakra is blocked, you will face health issues such as breathing difficulties, high blood pressure, lung diseases, breast cancer, etc.

Love and other emotions

In order to maintain a healthy heart chakra, you must learn to love yourself and others around you. Do not complain about things around you and what you do not have. Instead, enjoy and appreciate the things that you already have. Life is a wonderful thing.

Remember the Reiki percept that says “I’m grateful for my many blessings.”

Situations, which might cause emotional distress such as, divorce, separation, isolation, abandonment, grief caused due to death, or emotional abuse can seriously damages the heart chakra. If the heart chakra loses balance one becomes prone to many illnesses and may also suffer from emotional conditions. Unfavorable outcomes to such situations include feeling lonely, betrayed, being defensive, controlling, paranoid and possessive.

Healing the Heart Chakra

Here are some things which help in healing and balancing the heart chakra.


The heart chakra is associated with the color green. Enjoy and appreciate nature, and don’t harm it.

The Heart Chakra Symbol

The Heart Chakra Symbol

Visualize a strong green flame or light engulfing your heart towards its center. While inhaling imagine a soft green light filling up your heart and your body. Visualize that you are removing negative energy out of your body while exhaling. Do not put too much effort while exhaling, stay focused on inhaling.


In order to maintain a balanced heart chakra, it is always a good idea to practice yoga. If your heart chakra is blocked, it’s likely that your throat chakra is blocked too. The camel pose works well for both chakras to balance them up. To execute the camel chakra focus on extending your lower back while concentrating on stretching and opening your upper back. Your yoga teacher can give you more information and guidance.

Forgive and forget

Some say that the best solution to maintain a balanced heart chakra is to forgive yourself and others. It is always best to let go of the past and focus on the present moment and the many things you can be grateful for right now, also looking forward just a bit, to a better future. If you keep rewinding in your mind past situations that trouble you, you will continue feeling frustrated, angry, lonely or betrayed. Counseling, or even talking to a friend, might help.


Exercise is good for a healthy heart. If you think vigorous exercising routines are too difficult for you or if you feel that you do not have time for exercise then it will help to set up small goals like taking the stairs or walking to the market nearby instead of taking a ride.

Essential oils

Rose oil is an excellent heart healer and is commonly used to fight against depression. Using rose oil can develop positive thoughts and can fill you up with spirit. You will be more optimistic and happy.

Clary sage is also good at combating depression. It is also a nerve tonic and is extremely relaxing to have an aromatherapy with Clary sage.

Reiki and the Heart Chakra

Reiki is one of the most effective ways of healing and balancing the heart chakra. Reiki practitioners might have their own technique for balancing the heart chakra, below is one of the methods that many find effective.

  1. Relax comfortably
  2. Place your hands lightly on your chest in the heart area
  3. Welcome the flow of energy into your heart, and be open to healing, for the highest good
  4. Let your intuition guide you and use the symbols to fine-tune the energy flow
  5. Visualize green or pink light

The mantra ‘yam’ can be used to assist. Gemstones can also be used. Gemstones such as emerald, Kunzite, green jade, rose quartz and pink tourmaline can be used to help clear the heart chakra. These gemstones can be placed at the heart while performing Reiki and can used for longer periods of time. If you’re into aromatherapy, use Rose essence.

Free eBook download: We’ve created an eBook with our best articles on this topic, and offer it for free to all our newsletter subscribers.

{ 14 comments… add one }
  • Georgina April 12, 2014, 4:36 pm

    Thank you for this gift.

  • zainab November 20, 2014, 10:57 am

    Good article

  • Karin July 9, 2015, 12:39 am

    Thank you for the info. I took a crash coarse in reiki

Leave a Comment