≡ Menu

Reiki Training – What Does It Involve?

Reiki training is fairly straight forward and is usually done in four steps – or depending on the Master teaching it, perhaps three steps.

Level One Reiki training is focused on self-healing and helping others. This reiki training usually takes anywhere from one to four days before students are able to practice reiki and do self-healing.

At level one of reiki training, students learn the history of Reiki, the energy system, the nature of the reiki energy, ethics, five principles of reiki, three pillars of reiki, hand positions, ways to do a self-healing session and ways to do a session for others. It is fairly comprehensive Level One Reiki training.

If you will to take your Reiki training to the next level, then you will be working at Level Two. The focus of this level is to learn the Japanese healing symbols and on sending Reiki from a distance.  By the way, you do NOT under any circumstances do a distance healing without permission first. The ONLY time there may be an exception to this stricture is if the person is unconscious or has dementia.

Image by Flikkesteph

In that instance, you seek permission of their higher self/spirit, and you ask three times. If you can’t get a clear answer, then try sending distance treatment. If it flows, then you have been given permission. If it does not, and you will know that because the energy won’t go anywhere, then you cease sending.

For Level Two Reiki training, it’s a good idea to wait for at least three weeks to make sure level one is properly ingrained into the student. Of course, this depends on the student and their abilities.   Along with the above teachings, there will, or should be, a good in-depth discussion on getting rid of unwanted habits, empowering your own personal goals and making permanent changes in your life.  The Japanese healing symbols and techniques are then introduced into your reiki training and you practice sending distance treatments (usually to other students who have given permission for a distance treatment).

Your Level Three A training is usually the Master Practitioner or advanced practitioner. The master symbol is given at this level of reiki training, but you are not taught how to attune others or teach reiki. The next level if your course is taught in four steps is the Level Three Master/Teacher. The focus here would be on attuning others to reiki energy and on teaching reiki to others. In some cases an essay is requested of the student outlining why they wish to become a reiki master/teacher. The essay is discussed in great detail, as this is a solemn undertaking and one of much responsibility. The benefits of living a spirit-based life are talked about as well. The master symbol is introduced and practiced.

{ 0 comments… add one }

Leave a Comment

Our site uses cookies. By continuing to use our site you are agreeing to our privacy policy.