Heart Chakra Colors


Article by Deborah Lloyd, Reiki Master

Isn’t it fascinating there are two colors associated with the heart chakra? Depending on what written material you are looking at, or what website you are searching, you may find some teachers emphasize green, while others cite pink as the primary color. Neither are mistaken; both are right! The heart chakra encompasses many functions in our lives, and each of these colors can be associated with different aspects.

Our physical eyesight can distinguish more shades of green than any other color on the spectrum. Look at a field of green grass waving in the wind, or a forest with many varieties of trees. You will see a variety of dozens and dozens of shades of the color green. This is similar to the many shades of love. We love our spouse and our children; we love classical music and team sports; we love coffee and chocolate. Even the love for our spouse can feel different from minute to minute, as we live complicated lives of work, finances and raising families. Yet, a real commitment of love towards each other will enable us to work through these many variables.

Every spring, we are reintroduced to the many shades of green, as new leaves and plants reappear. Our hearts respond to the new life coming back to the earthly plane. It is a time to reflect upon the joy of our love relationships and to renew our commitment to bring peace and harmony to our personal relationships, and to the earth.

The emerald is the gemstone often associated with the heart chakra. A beautiful emerald is strong and precious, just as our love for others can be.

Reiki Rays Heart Chakra Colors
Image by David Paul Ohmer

The rose quartz is also associated with the heart chakra. While it has a soft, delicate hue, there is an underlying aspect of strength and durability – just like compassion. Compassion is the ability to understand what another person is experiencing, offering understanding and kindness to him. Our words and actions demonstrate support, and the feelings of isolation and aloneness in the other disappear. Compassion is love in action.

Pink symbolizes unconditional love and nurturing. It is the calm aspect of the color red (vs. the fiery, hot aspect). Often, when we think of nurturing, we think of mothers caring for their young children. Yet, all of us need nurturance, throughout our lifetimes. We need to experience love and compassion from another.

Have you ever thought about the nurturance you bring to another person through Reiki? Some clients seek Reiki for the simple act of someone giving them undivided attention for a period of time. They seek the healing touch, the personal intentions, the peaceful experience. Healing begins with the experience of receiving love from another person and from Spirit; Reiki provides this experience.

The Reiki experience can be enhanced with using the heart chakra colors. You can decorate your treatment room with green and pink; you can bring in the energies of these colors through intention and prayer; you can simply offer compassion and love to your clients. That is living the spirit of green and pink!

Free eBook download: We’ve created an eBook with our best articles on this topic, and offer it for free to all our newsletter subscribers. Click the image below to subscribe and download the PDF:

Download this eBook!

Deborah Lloyd

Deborah Lloyd

Deborah Lloyd is a Usui and Karuna® Reiki Master and certified holistic therapy practitioner. She also is a licensed clinical social worker, working with a hospice agency in Asheville, NC. She grew up on a farm in rural Indiana and was stricken with polio at the age of three. To relieve fatigue from post-polio syndrome, she learned Reiki. This complementary technique led her to explore other alternative modalities. Her personal journey, along with life lessons learned along the way, is detailed in her book, Believe and it is True: A Story of Healing and Life Lessons. Reach Deborah at http://www.deblloydhealing.com/, deb@deblloydhealing.com and at Deb Lloyd Healing on Facebook (https://www.facebook.com/deblloydhealing)


  1. Good article. I love your explanations of the 2 different colors for the heart chakra. I use my gut feelings as to which color to choose to work with. Thanks for posting. Good info for teachers.

Leave a Reply